Roshan Book

My Tech Notebook

How I Used a Webcam to Break My Bad Habits and Make Better Decisions


This is an awesome article published on Lifehacker.

Writer Adam Dachis , talked about a very easy but effective way to autosuggest. Using your webcam. Read the article to gain amazing insights on how mind takes pleasure in our vices and what approach writer employed to get rid of bad habits.

My approach was very simple, and it worked like this:

  1. I came up with a list of things I wanted to change, such as biting my nails (which I’d done as long as I could remember), putting more time and effort into exercise, worrying about offending people who aren’t nice and don’t care about me, and quite a bit more.
  2. I added why I wanted to change to each item on that list.
  3. I wrote a short “speech” (about 45 seconds) that I could read into a camera that covered every item on the list.
  4. I ended that “speech” with a reminder that I’m doing this because I care about myself.
  5. I read that speech into a webcam and recorded it every night. Sure, I could’ve gone the traditional route and talked into a mirror, but it’s tough to speak and truly listen at the same time.
  6. I watched each recording after I finished.
2 responses to “How I Used a Webcam to Break My Bad Habits and Make Better Decisions

  1. programme de musculation October 3, 2012 at 1:40 am

    It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I have read this submit and if I could I desire to counsel you few attention-grabbing issues or advice. Perhaps you can write subsequent articles referring to this article. I want to learn more issues approximately it!

  2. black hat seo October 9, 2012 at 7:02 am

    My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

