Roshan Book

My Tech Notebook

Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options


This post was originally published at http://www.blog.highub.com/shell/install-and-configure-lamp-on-ubuntu/

If you’re new to Ubuntu using 11.10 upwards, you might be scratching your head when you see people mention they’re using Gnome Shell instead of Unity, or even the “Classic Desktop“. Or if you’ve been using Ubuntu but decided to do a fresh install, you’ll find there is not only no “Ubuntu Classic” option at login, but no Gnome at all.

This is because the decision was made to drop Gnome as it moved from the familiar 2.x to Gnome 3, since Ubuntu and Unity are built on it anyway. The logic is that should people need a less resource-hungry environment for slower computers, they can log into Unity 2D instead. But while Unity is gaining fans, and most certainly will gain many more as development continues and we see a flood of plugins and customisation apps, some of us want to play with the new and shiny Gnome Shell, or just to get our old Gnome Classic desktop back.

Now, it’s actually easy to get either or both, but while I’ve seen in forums that installing Gnome Shell will also install the legacy “Classic” desktop, this isn’t true (though it makes sense people might assume that). That’s because while the meta-package gnome is installed, gnome-shell isn’t part of it, but a separate package. Likewise the “Classic” desktop doesn’t come in either gnome or gnome shell, but as exists as the package gnome-session-fallback (which also installs a 2D version).

So, you can pick either, or have both, and it’s as simple as pasting a command or two in the terminal. If planning to have both, you may as well install Gnome Shell first, though it shouldn’t really matter.

To install Gnome Shell: sudo apt-get install gnome-shell

To install Gnome Classic: sudo apt-get install gnome-session-fallback

Once installed, you should be able to just log out and log back in to one of your new desktops, but if not, then do a reboot. Then you can log into Gnome Shell at the login screen by choosing “GNOME“, or the more familiar legacy desktop by choosing “GNOME Classic” (or “GNOME Classic (No Effects)” for less powerful computers or graphics card issues).

If you can’t find where to log into other environments, it’s always a hidden menu you need to access, previously by the word Options at the bottom of the screen, but in 11.10 is a gear icon near the user name; in following versions, that will no doubt change, but just look for something to click on and you’ll find it. Obviously, if you’ve set your login option to be automatic, meaning you never see the login screen but end up straight at the desktop, then you’ll need to change that in order to be able to change between the different window managers.

45 responses to “Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options

  1. tweet adder coupon November 14, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    So, any individual reading this article should just go acquire Twitter update Adder once people are able to. Don’t forget about to take selling point of great offers there are on the net although and to take hold of your current Twitter Adder coupon before you make the purchasing!

  2. lqgsasx November 14, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    roBmmU tcrizjacsfrg, [url=http://cqtmntgshcdm.com/]cqtmntgshcdm[/url], [link=http://upqlntupaudg.com/]upqlntupaudg[/link], http://ihtmiuaavumj.com/

  3. ansar November 16, 2011 at 9:44 am

    Hi,
    Excellent Post, I like the Way of your Writing , thank you so much

  4. Ugg Payton Boots 5654 November 17, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful information specially the ultimate phase 🙂 I deal with such information a lot. I used to be looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  5. Replica Chanel Handbags November 19, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    Very good read, thank you for posting.

  6. StephenMendoza November 20, 2011 at 2:21 am

    Intriguing post. I have been searching for some good resources for solar panels and discovered your blog. Planning to bookmark this one!

  7. Gucci Sale UK November 22, 2011 at 3:44 am

    I definitely like it when men and women come together and share opinions, wonderful weblog, maintain it up.

  8. Louis Vuitton Replica UK November 22, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Simply wish to say your write-up is as amazing. The clarity within your post is simply spectacular and i could assume you are an expert on this topic.

  9. Replica Chanel Handbags November 23, 2011 at 2:44 am

    Wow! This might be 1 specific of one of the most helpful blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject.

  10. Gucci Sale UK November 23, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Hi, I can’t realize how to add your internet site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please? I genuinely want to read your future posts.

  11. Louis Vuitton Replica UK November 24, 2011 at 10:18 am

    You could definitely see your expertise in the paintings you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

  12. Cheap Louis Vuitton Bags November 25, 2011 at 4:15 am

    Incredibly revealing thank you, It is my opinion your visitors may well possibly want way more posts like this maintain the remarkable effort.

  13. Replica Designer Handbags November 25, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Nice blog. Located it using Bing. Think I’ll be back to see what else you’ve blogged about.

  14. Replica Chanel Handbags November 25, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Awesome weblog, it’s just like a game for me! It’s so infomative and usefull, thanks a good deal! If you post more of this great stuff, I’ll visit your blog again!

  15. Cheap Louis Vuitton November 26, 2011 at 6:02 am

    You made some first rate points there. I appeared on the internet for the difficulty and found most men and women will go along with together along with your site.

  16. Replica Handbags November 26, 2011 at 8:50 am

    You are my intake , I’ve few blogs and often run out from to post .

  17. Replica Louis Vuitton Speedy November 26, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    Fantastic write-up, I am typical visitor of one’s internet web page, preserve up the exceptional operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time

  18. LV Luggage Sale November 26, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Outstandingly revealing countless thanks, There’s no doubt that your audience would probably want even more weblog posts similar to this maintain up the terrific content.

  19. Cheap Designer Handbags November 28, 2011 at 3:54 am

    I haven’t checked in here for some time since I thought it was getting boring, but the last handful of posts are genuinely awesome quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend.

  20. Louis Vuitton Wallets Sale November 28, 2011 at 5:23 am

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this post. I’m hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to start my own BlogEngine blog now.

  21. Cheap Gucci Bags November 28, 2011 at 8:19 am

    Incredibly revealing thank you, It is my opinion your visitors may well possibly want way more posts like this maintain the remarkable effort.

  22. Louis Vuitton Outlet November 29, 2011 at 3:50 am

    Especially amazing post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I hope you write again incredibly soon!

  23. LV Purse Outlet November 29, 2011 at 8:10 am

    Thanks for this great post.I am a total beauty fallower and so will exactly pursue for the fallowing ones. Have a awesome day.

  24. Replica Prada Bags November 29, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I’m so glad this internet thing performs and your post honestly helped me. May take you up on that home assistance you

  25. Louis Vuitton Outlet November 30, 2011 at 3:48 am

    Valuable details and exceptional design you got here! I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and time into the stuff you post!! Thumbs up!

  26. Louis Vuitton Wallets Sale November 30, 2011 at 4:55 am

    We can make further discussion via yahoo messenger. Your post is great, I had read and stand by within your site for a week, I use this for my research. We can make another conclusion for this valuable post.

  27. replica louis vuitton December 1, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Truly illuminating appreciate it, I’m sure your trusty readers may well really well want a excellent deal more writing such as this preserve the amazing content.

  28. LV Luggage December 2, 2011 at 11:50 am

    I would like to say “wow” what a inspiring post. This is genuinely superb. Keep doing what you’re doing!!

  29. louis vuitton replica handbags December 5, 2011 at 8:16 am

    I identified this internet site via aol and I’m actually glad about the facts you provide in your blog. Btw your sites really broken using firefox4

  30. Elektrische Zahnbuerste December 5, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Hi there! I could have sworn Ive been to this internet site before but soon after reading by way of some with the post I realized it is new to me. Anyhow, Im surely glad I identified it and Ill be book-marking and checking back often!

  31. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

  32. Louis Vuitton wallets For Sale December 6, 2011 at 3:19 am

    Thanks for this post. I don’t know a large number of links to forums but my friends seem to be able to spend a lot of time on them that’s for sure.

  33. Replica Handbags December 6, 2011 at 8:47 am

    I like your blog so considerably that I feel I have to wish you. Happy New Year in advance. Have a good and prosperous year ahead

  34. App For Android December 9, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    I got what you designate, thanks for swing up. Woh I am gladsome to acquire this website finished google. Thanks For Share Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options Roshan Book.

  35. invest liberty reserve December 12, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    An interesting communicating is designer scuttlebutt. I opine that you should correspond statesman on this issue, it power not be a inhibition topic but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the succeeding. Cheers like your Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options Roshan Book.

  36. Constipation remedies December 12, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I believe that you should make statesman on this content, it strength not be a taboo message but generally grouping are not enough to utter on specified topics. To the succeeding. Cheers like your Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options Roshan Book.

  37. invest liberty reserve December 13, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    An newsworthy discussion is designer mention. I judge that you should compose more on this substance, it mightiness not be a inhibition thing but generally people are not sufficiency to verbalise on much topics. To the next. Cheers like your Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options Roshan Book.

  38. internet marketing west palm beach December 16, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Hope this works thanks for the idea. Great information can’t wait to try it. James Douglas

  39. invest liberty reserve December 16, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    An newsworthy language is couturier statement. I reckon that you should write much on this message, it strength not be a taboo dominate but mostly grouping are not sufficiency to talk on specified topics. To the next. Cheers like your Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options Roshan Book.

  40. moncler jackets for men December 16, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Kudos for your concern and efforts! These things with your website is fabulous. Moreover I greatly value your thoughts.

  41. Sprinkle apk December 17, 2011 at 9:25 am

    An intriguing speech is couturier annotate. I judge that you should indite many on this subject, it power not be a preconception content but mostly fill are not sufficiency to verbalise on specified topics. To the succeeding. Cheers like your Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options Roshan Book.

  42. Sheilah Kroll December 18, 2011 at 3:47 am

    Hello there! What sort of articles are you likely to create in the near future? I am taking into consideration after that web site, it is quite great.

  43. cheap moncler December 23, 2011 at 8:34 am

    Certain 1 areas in this particular posting truly are best option I??ve had.

  44. invest liberty reserve December 24, 2011 at 5:33 am

    Wonderful goods from you, man. Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options Roshan Book I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely great. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful Ubuntu 11.10 Fix: How to Add the Classic Desktop and Gnome 3 Shell As Login Options Roshan Book informations.

  45. local marketing strategies January 20, 2012 at 6:23 am

    Good site! I really love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

