Roshan Book

My Tech Notebook

Install and Configure LAMP on Ubuntu


This post was originally published at http://www.blog.highub.com/shell/install-and-configure-lamp-on-ubuntu/

In this article, I will share my experience install and configure LAMP on Ubuntu Linux.

1. Launch Terminal
First open up Applications->Accessories->Terminal.

2. Install Apache
Type the following line of command:

sudo apt-get install apache2

3.Install PHP5
Execute the following command by typing the following line in the Terminal and hit enter:

sudo apt-get install php5 libapache2-mod-php5

4. To Stop/Restart Apache
Execute the following command in the Terminal:

Stop/Restart Apache

5.Install MySQL Server

sudo apt-get install mysql-server

6.Set mysql root password
You’ll need to set a password for local computer gets root access.

a. First type the follwing line and hit enter to avoid being prompted for password:

sudo su

b. now you must kill the running mysql server. The process id is grabbed from /var/run/mysqld/ and inserted into the kill statement. Note there are ticks (`) around the process id, not single quotes (‘).

kill `cat /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.pid`

c. Now you need to run a command to cause the server not to use the privilege system at all, which gives anyone with access to the server unrestricted access to all databases.

mysqld –skip-grant-tables & mysql -u root

d. Set the password:
UPDATE mysql.user SET Password=PASSWORD (‘newpassword’) WHERE User = ‘root’;

e. execute the following commands one by one to finish the password setup.
exit
kill `cat /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.pid`
mysqld &
mysql -u root -p

7.Install MySQL Administrator

sudo apt-get install mysql-admin

8. Refresh Gnome Panel

killall gnome-panel

9. Install MySQL for Apache HTTP Server

sudo apt-get install libapache2-mod-auth-mysql php5-mysql phpmyadmin

41 responses to “Install and Configure LAMP on Ubuntu

  1. Carter Montiel November 3, 2011 at 2:02 am

    There are some fascinating deadlines in this article but I don?t know if I see all of them center to heart. There’s some validity but I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we wish more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

  2. Virgen Basten November 17, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    This web site can be a stroll-by way of for all the info you needed about this and didn?t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you?ll undoubtedly discover it.

  3. Ugg Bailey Button Triplet 1873 November 18, 2011 at 4:11 am

    Nice blog here! Additionally your site lots up fast! What web host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate hyperlink for your host? I wish my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  4. Replica Chanel Bags November 19, 2011 at 6:46 am

    Fantastic!This post is creativethere lots of new ideait provides me inspiration.I consider Let me also inspired by you and look at more new ideas

  5. Designer Handbags November 19, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    I honestly really should certainly pronounce, impressed along with your internet site. I had no difficulty navigating signifies all of the tabs also as associated information ended up being truly easy to complete to entry. I lately discovered what I hoped for prior to you realize it in any respect.

  6. HonoratoWolfe November 20, 2011 at 1:25 am

    I’ve been checking your blog for a while now, seems like everyday I learn something new 🙂 Thanks

  7. Bryan Burns November 22, 2011 at 4:11 am

    Great Post! I viewed this listing from a RSS search and your content really reached out to me. You are an breath of fresh air in your field and this article is proof. I am now subscribing to read more.

  8. Designer Handbags Sale November 22, 2011 at 11:19 am

    There is obviously a bundle to know about this. I think you made certain good points in features also.

  9. Gucci Sale UK November 22, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Awesome weblog, it’s just like a game for me! It’s so infomative and usefull, thanks a good deal! If you post more of this great stuff, I’ll visit your blog again!

  10. Replica Designer Handbags November 22, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    I really like your writing style, fantastic information, regards for posting

  11. Louis Vuitton Bags For Cheap November 23, 2011 at 11:11 am

    I am going to correct now take your feed to remain updated on each and every coming blog posts you may most likely create. You’re worthy of thanks for a job perfectly

  12. Gucci Sale UK November 23, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    i have been reading your weblog from sometime and i must say you always maintain wonderful consistency,hence i always get pleasure from reading your blog.

  13. Hermes Sale November 24, 2011 at 2:13 am

    Really habitually I go to see this internet webpage. It incredibly greatly is pleasant to me. Thanks the author

  14. Replica Chanel Bags November 24, 2011 at 4:46 am

    Your article seems interesting, i’ve noted it my digg and stumble account.The point you are making is easy to recognize and effective.

  15. Replica Gucci Bags November 24, 2011 at 11:04 am

    This blog is wonderful. There is always all of the suitable facts at the ideas of my fingers. Thank you and keep up the beneficial work!

  16. Replica Gucci Bags November 25, 2011 at 2:27 am

    I am quite interesting in this topic hope you will elaborate more on it in future posts.

  17. louis vuitton wallets replica November 25, 2011 at 4:58 am

    Valuable details and exceptional design you got here! I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and time into the stuff you post!! Thumbs up!

  18. LV Bags For Cheap November 25, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Incredibly revealing thank you, It is my opinion your visitors may well possibly want way more posts like this maintain the remarkable effort.

  19. SEO Services Firm November 25, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    This is a message to the website owner. Does your website get enough visitors or not rank for keywords with Google? Well we can help! We can provide you with a safe tiered link building system! This will help your rankings in the search engines and make your website more visible to your target audience. Take a look as I am sure you will be interested. http://www.linklegends.com

  20. Replica Handbags November 26, 2011 at 3:50 am

    Outstandingly good cheers, I reckon your visitors may well well want significantly more posts similar to this carry on the very good content.

  21. LV Sale November 26, 2011 at 4:55 am

    Yeah bookmaking this wasn’t a high risk decision outstanding post! .

  22. Replica Louis Vuitton Speedy November 26, 2011 at 11:07 am

    This really is so good that I had to comment. I’m generally just a lurker, taking in knowledge and nodding my head in quiet approval at the superior stuff?-..this required written props. Theory rocks?-thanks.

  23. Gucci Bags For Cheap November 26, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Incredibly nice layout and wonderful topic material , practically nothing else we want

  24. Louis Vuitton Bags Outlet November 26, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Some genuinely interesting information and facts, well written and loosely user pleasant.

  25. Cheap Designer Handbags November 28, 2011 at 2:21 am

    Hi there, I’m just establishing my 1st internet internet site, looking around and figuring out what is required. This blog stuck out straight away. I’m psyched about this, and adore the feel of your page. Are you able to let me know what “theme” you are using?

  26. Louis Vuitton handbags on sale November 28, 2011 at 4:36 am

    Surprisingly illuminating numerous thanks, It looks like your current visitors might possibly want way more well written articles like this carry on the excellent content.

  27. Designer Handbags Sale November 29, 2011 at 2:16 am

    I wasn’t aware of the a large number of ripples and depth to this story until I surfed here through Google! Fantastic job.

  28. Louis Vuitton Knockoffs November 29, 2011 at 3:14 am

    Rather challenging thanks, It is my opinion your current visitors would possibly want even more well written articles like this maintain the terrific effort.

  29. Burberry Outlet Online November 29, 2011 at 4:33 am

    Tremendously informative cheers, It looks like your visitors may well possibly want far more facts of this nature preserve the superb work.

  30. LV Handbags Sale November 29, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Genuinely illuminating cheers, I believe your trusty readers might well want a great deal more information like that continue the excellent hard work.

  31. LV Wallet November 30, 2011 at 2:06 am

    Thanks a great deal for sharing this with all of us you definitely comprehend what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Please also seek advice from my internet site =). We will have a hyperlink alternate contract between us!

  32. LV Bags For Cheap November 30, 2011 at 3:03 am

    Just added this weblog to my favorites. I appreciate reading your blogs and hope you maintain them coming!

  33. Louis Vuitton Knockoffs Cheap November 30, 2011 at 4:31 am

    Your webpage is gaining more popularity thanks to sites like Myspace and other social media. Thanks again for the awesome post I’ll be back for updates.

  34. PingBackLinks December 1, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Mass ping your URLs using our pinger.

  35. louis vuitton replica wallets December 5, 2011 at 8:25 am

    Surprisingly illuminating numerous thanks, It looks like your current visitors might possibly want way more well written articles like this carry on the excellent content.

  36. LV Wallet December 5, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    Glorious weblog! I actually love how it’s hassle-free on my eyes in addition to the details are properly written. I’m wondering how I may well be notified every time a brand new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which must do the trick! Have a good day!

  37. invest liberty reserve December 6, 2011 at 6:42 am

    It’s a good dishonour you don’t hold a deal money fasten! I’d definitely fund money for this howling webpage! That i presume for the instance existence i’ll be satisfied bookmarking unitedly with including an individual’s Ply that instrument my someone Msn balance. That i appearing impudent that gift past messages and definitely will share the web parcel utilizing my human Facebook or twirp squad: )

  38. invest liberty reserve December 6, 2011 at 8:51 am

    It’s a better misfortune you don’t a pay money button! I’d definitely move money for this strange webpage! That i imply for the abstraction state i’ll be bookmarking unitedly with including an individual’s Provide that faculty my best Msn carry. That i attending headfirst that testament past messages and definitely leave portion the web parcel utilizing my physiologist Facebook or team: )

  39. Replica Handbags December 6, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Valuable info. Lucky me I located your web web page by accident, and I’m shocked why this accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it

  40. cheap canada goose|c December 10, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Now i am often to writing a blog and really admire your posts. The write-up has actually peaks my interest. Let me bookmark your web site and preserve checking thorough information.

  41. Bobby December 10, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Does this site have a RSS feed?

Leave a Reply

