Roshan Book

My Tech Notebook

Reverting back to windows boot loader


1. Remove the Ubuntu partitions (EXT3 and SWAP) and resize the Windows partition (NTFS) to use that space.

To do this, you can follow the blog post I made which uses the Gparted LiveCD. The NTFS partition is Windows, and the EXT3 and SWAP partitions were created by Ubuntu.

http://useopensource.blogspot.com/2006/12/easy-way-to-resize-hard-drive.html

2. Fix the MBR (Master Boot Record) so that Windows will boot, instead of GRUB.

Boot from the Windows XP CD.
Rress the “R” key in the setup to start the restoration console.
Select your windows XP installation from the list, and enter the administrator password.
Enter the command: “FIXMBR” (without the quotes) at the input prompt and confirm the next question with a “Y” (without the quotes).
Use exit to restore the computer.

If you do not have your Windows XP cd, then you can use the SuperGrub LiveCD to fix your MBR.

http://supergrub.forjamari.linex.org/

Another option is to boot to a floppy and use “FDISK.EXE /MBR”, but the first two options are much better. Good luck!

16 responses to “Reverting back to windows boot loader

  1. Israel Woelfl October 4, 2011 at 10:03 am

    Nice site you got here. Helped me out a bunch. I have a few questions though, is there anybody I could contact to answer them here?

  2. Joette Joganic October 5, 2011 at 7:22 am

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  3. alien wallpaper October 7, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Thanks for every other excellent article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such info.

  4. Erich Batel October 8, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    good work, continue the great site.

  5. Big Bubble October 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Hello! My buddy told me something like fotokopi toneri or toner or maybe kartu, do you know what does it mean? Laters!

  6. x loop glasses October 10, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Good day :)What’s up? :p I see that you are still holding this blog, congrats! Did you had problems with Google during the last update? I took a look at your current rankings for this blog post and it seems that it’s all well for now! If there will be any problems be sure to get back to me, always loved your style Bye! 🙂

  7. x-loop sports sunglasses October 12, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Howdy!What’s up? :p I see that you are still pumping this site up. How did you pass the latest Google update? Just checked your rankings and it seems like you are doing a good job 🙂 Hope you will maintain the quality, just don’t forget about your friends 😉 Bye-Bye :*

  8. kahlua recipes October 18, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    It was nice to read your post. Thank you for posting this piece!

  9. Marble tiles December 9, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Hello!How are you? I see that you are still holding this blog, congrats! How did you pass the latest Google update? I took a look at your current rankings for this blog post and it seems that it’s all well for now! Keep that up and don’t forget to msg me when you catch some free time 🙂 C ya soon! 😉

  10. laser hair removal schools December 9, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Interesting read , I am going to spend more time learning about this subject

  11. samsung ln32d450 December 11, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    I finally grabbed Dark Knight, friggin amazing BluRay on the Samsung. Avatar will also blow yer mind. How to Train yer Dragon was a cool little film, I agree.Love this TV, wish I had 3d Only so I could write more about it for Booya Readers 🙂

  12. eokul vbs December 11, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Yeah just bought one of these and it rocks! ive got the play station 3 on the hdmi and it is unbelievably crisp!I would recommend this to anyone who has got superior high standards when it comes to quality.Thanks

  13. online printing company December 15, 2011 at 12:09 am

    Good read , I’m going to spend more time researching this topic

  14. Sunshine Spittler December 17, 2011 at 4:44 am

    I am very impress your this post, this is too much interesting. Thanks a lot…

  15. Keven Quesinberry December 19, 2011 at 5:40 am

    Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects? Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

